Latest News

The Nigeria Prize for Science

The Nigeria Prize for Science celebrates excellence in scientific breakthroughs and honours scientists from anywhere in the world who help find solutions to a local or ‘Nigerian’ problem as defined and advertised by the Advisory Board for the prize. 

The Prize is an annual prize aimed at stimulating the advancement and application of science and technology. It is expected that the quest for a prestigious prize in science will improve science and technology in Nigeria, resolve issues that are germane to development of the country and help improve the standards of living. 

The prize is administered on behalf of Nigeria LNG Limited by the Advisory Board for Science. The current Advisory Board is chaired by a former winner of the prize, recipient of Nigeria National Merit Award and Fellow of The Nigerian Academy of Sciences, Professor Alfred Akpoveta Susu. Other members of the Board are Professor Barth Nnaji, internationally-acclaimed professor of robotics, Nigeria’s former Minister of Science and Technology, and former Minister of Power; Professor Michael Adikwu, former winner of the prize and former Vice-Chancellor, University of Abuja; and Chief (Dr.) Mrs. Nike Akande, Nigeria’s former Minister of Industries and Chairman of Lagos Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture. 

When an entry has been found worthy of winning the Prize, the name of the winner (s) is announced in October, commemorating the first export of LNG cargo by NLNG on October 9, 1999.

​Implementation of The Nigeria Prize for Science

The overall prize implementation is the responsibility of the Advisory Board, supported by the secretariat which is located within NLNG. They are responsible for:
  1. Overall governance and administration of the prize.
  2. Appointment and supervision of judges and the adjudication process.
  3. Approval of the outcome of the adjudication process.
​Role of the Judges

Judges are appointed annually by the Advisory Board on behalf of Nigeria LNG Limited and their functions are:
  • To set adjudication criteria.
  • To review all entries. 
  • To submit shortlists to the Advisory Board as agreed.
  • To present the judges’ report to the Advisory Board which in turn announces it at the world press conference in October.
Winners at the Glance
Year Winning Entry Scientist
2019 Carbon Capture, Carbon Utilization, and Biomass Gasification and Energy Storage for Power Generation Professor Meihong Wang and Dr. Mathew Aneke
2018 Nanostructured Metal Hydrides for the Storage of Electrical Power from Renewable Energy Sources and for Explosion Prevention in High Voltage Power Transformers Peter Ngene
2017 Improving Home and Community Management of Malaria: Providing the Evidence Base Ikeoluwapo Ajayi, Ayodele Jegede & Bidemi Yusuf Multifaceted Efforts at Malaria Control in Research: Management of Malaria of Various Grades and Mapping Artemisinin Resistance Olugbenga Mokuolu Novel lipid microparticles for effective delivery of Artemether antimalarial drug using a locally-sourced Irvingia fat from nuts of Irvingia gabonensis var excelsa (ogbono). Chukwuma Agubata
2016 None Extended to 2017
2015 No Competition No Competition
2014 No Competition No Competition
2013 No Competition No Competition
2012 No Winner No Winner
2011 No Winner No Winner
2010 Development of a New Method in Die Design Professor Akaehomen Ibhadode
2009 Discovery of the gene responsible for the creation of Sialidase (SD), an enzyme which causes sleeping sickness (Trypanosomiasis) Professor Andrew Nok
2008 Solution to Road Pavement Destabilisation by the Invention of ‘Lateralite’: A Stabilisation Flux for Fine Grained Lateritic Soils Dr. Ebenezer Meshida
2007 No Winner No Winner
2006 Wound Healing Devices (Formulations) Containing Snail Mucin Professor Michael Adikwu
2005 No Winner No Winner
2004 Real-Time Computer Assisted Leak Detection/Location Reporting and Inventory Loss Monitoring System
Professor Akpoveta Susu & Dr. Kingsley Abhulimen